Monday, July 6, 2015

Things not to say to a "non-traditional" family.

After having to explain my family dynamic to the 8 millionth nosy person this morning, I've decided to compile a handy reference guide for anyone who has questions about someone else's family.

Here is a simple list of things that it is not ok to ask:
-Got started on that family awful young, huh? *winkwink*
         Yes. I had my first child at age 9, you idiot. Clearly I am not old enough to be their biological mother, it's not rocket science. It's also not any of your effing business.

-Don't you want any real kids?
      So...the ones I have clothed, fed, bathed, provided for, cried over their hurts, and celebrated their victories with for 11 yeaes are imaginary? Or are you inferring that because we don't share DNA they are less important? Makes you kinda sound like a douche when it's phrased that way, now doesn't it? Also, it's none of your effing business.

-Isn't it hard raising someone else's kids?
          Because biological kids are so easy to raise, right? One more thing, it's none of your effing business.

-How do you do it?
           Apparently better than you. Hey guess what? None of your effing business.



Things that it IS ok to say to someone about their family:

"My, what a beautiful family you have"
          -Thank you.


Seriously people. I promise to never ask ridiculously intimate and prodding questions about your family, if you will extend the same courtesy to me. If you are lut there giving life your all, and doing everything you can every day to give your family the best life possible, kudos to you. And your family does not have to meet my definition of family. Is it that hard of a concept to understand?