Friday, August 17, 2012

God Bless Teachers

I tried to warn you guys that I would forget all about this blog shortly after it's birth.  And look at me...I've done just that.


Another back to school season is upon us.  Kids start back to their respective prisons on Monday. Although, my kids are weirdos...they love school, and their excitement at the start of a new year is bewildering. Took them all to orientation yesterday...you know the drill...met the teachers, got the mile long list of required supplies (that of course do NOT match the supplies that I've already bought...).  School uniforms have been procured.

I have a bunch of teacher friends...and can I just take a minute to say, my hat is off to you ladies (and gentlemen...).  It is all I can do to maintain my sanity where my own children are concerned. How on earth you saints manage to get thru the day dealing with other people's little heathens is beyond me.

Yesterday alone, I was on the verge of physically assaulting at least a dozen rude, disrespectful, scantily dressed little aholes.  Why anyone would voluntarily put themselves in charge of a mass of other people's kids is more than my mind can comprehend.

For that, I'd just like to say thank you.  Thank you to all of my friends, and all of the other teachers whom I may not know for putting your own sanity on the line to advance the lives of young people who will not, for many years, have any appreciation for what you do and sacrifice for them.

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for reaching out to our future leaders and trying to fill a role that many of them may not have at home.

Thank you, for doing what I do not have the ability to do. And for doing it with a smile.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Put up, or shut up.

Ahhh...another major election year is upon us.

I know, I know...I'm supposed to write funny things. Things that make you laugh. Things about wanting to violently assault some unsuspecting offender. Meh...it's my blog, and I can write what I want to. (ohhh...that should be a song...)

Today, I am frustrated with my generation. I am frustrated with the number of people my age who do not use their voice.  It baffles me the number of people in their early-mid twenties that are politically clueless. Maybe it's because of who my father is, that I am so adamant that every American should exercise their right to vote. Maybe if I were raised differently, I would feel differently, I don't know.  My mom is completely politically neutral.  She does not vote, and she does not get involved in politics.  I am ok with that.  (I know, hypocritical you say, right?) Not really...I am ok with my mom being neutral and refusing to vote because she is truly neutral. Which means she doesn't vote, but she also doesn't bitch.  She doesn't complain about our political leaders and/or the policies that they put in place.  She goes thru her life just living for herself, and doing what she is told to do.  That is what makes her happy, and that is ok with me. That means that she does not have the right to complain about our government...and she knows that.

My dad on the other hand? Couldn't be further from mom on the political spectrum. He IS an elected official. Albeit, a small farm town commissioner in rural Vermont...but that doesn't matter, he is involved. He voices his opinion, he makes his feelings known.  That gives him the right to complain if he doesn't like the way things are going.


Since I grew up with parents that were complete and total polar opposites from each other, I got to explore both sides of the spectrum, and it helped me to understand the importance of making my voice heard.  My dad always beat it into my head that voting of our officials is a RIGHT that we are given in this country.  And that if we don't exercise that right, then we do not have the right to complain about whatever happens.

Well...we all know Liza loves to complain!


It blows my mind that so many people our age just don't give a damn. I don't care if your opinions are the same as mine, if you make an informed decision about something, and you vote your opinion, then you are doing your part.

Which brings me to my second point...INFORMED decisions.   Yeah...those seem to have gone right out the window, don't they?  A recent conversation with a friend made me realize that some people (a lot of people?) actually form their opinions of a candidate based on the commercials they see on TV.

WHAT?!?!?!?!

I don't even know where to begin in addressing that topic. Maybe it's better that those people just don't vote at all. I dunno.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Suggestions for Divorce Lawyer?

I may be needing to hire one. So if any of you guys have strong connections, keep me in mind.

Don't be mistaken...I am not having any marital problems (at least none that I know of...) but I'm starting to think my husband might be planning to kick me to the curb.  Maybe he finally realized he's infinitely hotter than me or something. I dunno.  He came home last night talking about a story he heard on the radio about a couple who got divorced and had a custody battle over their dog.

He says "I'm just telling you, if we ever get divorced...I am definitely taking you to court over Rome."

What the hell ever! He can take the kids. He can keep the house. I will even let him keep my coveted mini-van. But there is no way in hell he is keeping the dog. The dog and the boat are mine.

I am even willing to work out some kind of a joint custody arrangement on the boat. But Romeo is off limits.